Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need GP1300 Troubleshooting Help

My 2003 GP1300 is sitting in the yard staring at me with a sad, sad look the last couple weeks. It wants to play but has a bad sickness. I just don't know what it is.

I've posted recently about this. Here's the deal. Bought it used, and it ran great for about 6 hours. All of a sudden it lost its umph. It will only go about 55 mph and just won't reach more than about 5500 rpm. I'm not a great mechanic, so I took it to a dealer.

They yanked the CAT, put in a D-plate, installed the bypass chip, and put on a new impeller. New plugs, some injector cleaner, compression good, good fuel pressure, all electronics tested ok. It cost me a thousand bucks, but if it gets me hauling ass again, fine.

It did not. The engine sounds smooth, but it simply won't go full speed. Feels like a kiddie ride. Then, the engine died. After about 5 cranks, it fired up, I took off, and the thing really hooked up! I was screaming on the water. Then it died again. When I tried cranking it again, it makes this horrible screaching sound.

As of now, I've been told that the screaching sound is something to do with the starter or the flywheel key (?). It also has a little water on the spark plugs. Not a good sign. I have never flipped it, and it doesn't appear that there is ever water in the hull.

Do you think there is any connection between the loss of power and this new starter screaching? Weird. Anyways, I'm bringing it to a mechanic Monday AM to see what they can find out. Ugg...ANY IDEAS???

Thanks Forum
    Jason

+1
    First problem sounds like the powervalves are not opening, second sounds like the bendix locked up. Both are easy enough to fix but may need some more details to properly diagnose.

Can you hear or see the powervalves cycle when the motor is turned off?

+1
    We need to find this guy a mechanic in the Sacramento area before he get taken to the cleaners again by that dealership. $1000? Ouch.