Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Too much prop causing detonation?

Hey guys,

Last week I installed my new 14/20 Dynafly in my stock 2006 1300R. I know the general consensus is that the stock motor has trouble turning this prop. I wanted to go get some RPM readings just to see what the baseline would be before adding mods to increase RPM. The results weren't very promising. I could not get it to turn more than 6400rpm at WOT. Also, the ski felt like an absolute slug. Now, my average RPM with the stock prop was 7160 before the install. I have read that the stock motor SHOULD turn the 14/20 about 6800-6850. I was nowhere near that. Well, I pulled the plugs this morning just to check compression to start finding out what the deal is. I noticed the plugs looked a lot different from before. I smelled hardly any fuel on them at all. Below are two pictures (the plugs were put in new right before I did some runs). I'm no expert but they look on the lean side to me. Could it be possible the prop loaded the motor so much to cause detonation? Could the prop be binding on the wear ring causing such a low RPM? Any input is greatly appreciated!

Mike

+1
    Did you remove the plugs on the water doing a plug chop?

Or did you remove the plugs on land? (sounds like on land)

The plugs will show you their state for the last rpm the motor was running.

You might ttry putting the stock impeller back in and see if your RPMs return.

Quote Originally Posted by philip_gpr View Post
    You might ttry putting the stock impeller back in and see if your RPMs return.
    I just took the 14/20 off. The edges are all perfect and doesn't look there's any sign of binding or wear. At least if the RPMs return with the stock prop, that will rule out any gremlins internally. I just can't see my ski running so strong on the stock impeller (69.0 @ 7220rpm) and then losing so much just because I went to the 14/20.
    Last edited by Fusion; 06-17-2007 at 10:29 AM.

+1