Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: The Buck

+1

The Buck

I think we need to come up with a forum solution for the buck that we can freely share with everyone.

There was someone on Riva that got bucked off on the weekend at over 60 mph. He had a stage I ski - nowhere near 80 mph. There is another thread on this topic started by another forum member with the buck.

This is safety issue and I think it needs to be dealt with out in the open. There shouldn't be secrets on this one. I would like to see us all take Ben's approach on this one and talk freely and openly on this topic.

I understand the basic premise behind solving the buck is to relieve pump tunnel pressure. I understand Kawi did this several years back on one of their skis by adding some venting holes in the pump shoe area. I have never owned a Kawi and my ski doesn't buck so this is something I have no experience with so I am no help on this one.

It looks like we will have our billet intake grate this year. This leaves the buck as the biggest safety issue left.

Let's get rid of it as well so nobody gets seriously hurt.
    Last edited by philip_gpr; 06-19-2007 at 08:18 AM.

+1
    RIVA still has a board?

I'm with you Phillip, we need to put the checklist as a sticky for a while since this seems to be a recurring question/issue that is addressed.

Quote Originally Posted by philip_gpr View Post
    Ben's approach on this one and talk freely and openly on this topic.
    Ben, lets hear what you have to say about this issue, since we are laying it all out in the open, and you have stated that you have fixed the bucking issue

+1
    Rich and I have developed a way to correctly remove tunnel pressure without any of the side effects. We are still in the development stage so offering any at this point would be a little premature. WFO will be the one doing the mods to the pump and he will be the one to contact on this issue.