Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Wd-40 Redux

Wd-40 Redux

OK, this may be beating a dead horse, but after seraching this site for threads discussing WD-40, I am more confused than anything else now ...

The consensus is that it does displace water (WD, duh!) and it is cheaper than most lube & silicone sprays. But in terms of rust prevention, eveyone seem to have a different opinion: some swear by it and advise to spray before each ride, then again after rinsing the engine compartment. Some just plain hate it and only use it to fix squeaky things or locked nuts. Others are concerned about damages to rubber and plastics.

So, WD-40 as a rust preventer, it is a myth or reality? How does it compare to silicone sprays? Anyone using foggers? How about rubber parts damage in the engine compartment?

Well, I have no skis or boats now but I have been riding jets skis since 1979 and raced for 8 years (in alot of salt).

Here is what I know. WD-40 displaces water. In the olden days when you sunk your 2 stroke the first thing you did is took out the plugs, rolled it over on its side and ran the starter to get the water out. Then you soaked the cylinders with WD40 to displace the water and lube the pistons back up, as the water strips the oil from them. WD40 is also the best starter fluid to use for 2 strokes. It is flamable and it has oil in it. NEVER use standard started fluid in a 2 stroke, it could seize the pistons. (No oil). Sorry to talk 2 strokes, but this is my knowledge base.

And yes, WD40 does prevent rust. rust is caused by air and water on raw metal/steel.