Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Also Experiencing High REVVING

Hello. I am brand new to this forum and am glad to have found it. Through searches I found this thread that is similar to a problem I'm trying to resolve.

Background:
    I'm Brand new to owning/maintainign ski's...but have done a lot of riding with my brother on his ski's in FL. I'm fairly confident with my mechanical inclination, but have little to no experience working on ski's. An in-law in the Northeast recently bestowed upon me (as half-owner, and to try and fix) a couple of Polaris '93 SLT 750's. They sat for about 2 years with only a few dry starts throughout. One has a battery drain problem (think it's a bad CDI) and the other has a revving problem. The issue I'm looking for assistance with at this point is the revving problem. Ski's haven't been in the water sinece I've had them.

The Revving problem:
    My issue seems a little different from the one described earlier in this thread, in that immediately upon cold-starting the ski, the engine revs to what feels like WOT, without ever touching the throttle. I shut it down after about 1 second, not wanting to damage the engine. (or smog my entire neighborhood out!) I then checked for any obvious throttle cable/linkage issues and there were none. Throttle returns fully to the stop plate. I tried adjusting idle position to see if it made any difference at all, but it didn't.

I took off the intake cover (both halves) so I could clearly see what the carbs were doing. (...cable, linkage, choke plates, throttle plates, etc.) All appeared normal, or at least what I'd expect to be normal. I started it again...same symptom, and for the brief moment it was running I tried "flooring" the thumb throttle to see if RPM's would change/go higher but it just opened up the throats of the carbs, making a "throatier" intake sound, but no change in RPM's. I shut down again quickly.

I guess my main question after reading the posts in this thread, is: