+1

Need 750 piston measurement

I'm working on a 95 sl 750 for a guy, and it's bored out .01 over stock right now. It has wiseco pistons in it right now and there is .01 clearance as it sits. What i need is someone that has a new stock or any cast .01 oversize piston to measure it and tell me the diameter so i know if the cylinder was bored/honed to big and i need to go to the next size, or if the skirts on the pistons are worn/collapsed that much. The bore size is right at 70.25mm, but there is .010 clearance on the piston. I just hate to order a piston kit and have to send it back because it's too small. Any help is appreciated.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    If I'm following you correctly, you want the measurement of a .25mm (I believe = .010) OS piton? 69.97 mm or 2.75 in. Please don't take this as a professional machinist's facts. I'm just a newb with a caliper. Stock bore is 69.72mm (2.74)

+1
    That's what i'm looking for xlint, but i need someone with experience to measure it for me. I need an EXACT measurement so i know if i need to go to the next size or not. The bore is at 2.767" right now. The .01 wiseco is at 2.757" so there is .01 clearance right now, but i don't know if the piston is worn that much, if the skirt collapsed, or if whoever set it up last time bored it too big.

+1
    with wiseco pistons you should have 6 thousand's ?? clearance because they are lighter and they swell up faster and they love to seize up if they don't have enough clearance .

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by 785 lugs View Post
    with wiseco pistons you should have 6 thousand's ?? clearance because they are lighter and they swell up faster and they love to seize up if they don't have enough clearance .
    Good point. Wiseco does have there own clearances because of the expansion vs. stock. I see Wiseco doesn't have a .10 OS. http://www.wiseco.com/PDFs/Catalogs/CB07/PWC.pdf

+1