Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Plate recomendations

I'm interested in the groups opinion and experience with 3 different ride plate configurations. Current I/R Mod 4 plate, Jims FF plate, and the earlier I/R skegless angle plate. The plate I am now using is the early I/R skegless angle plate. Today I tested the latest version of this plate (Mod 4) back to back with the early version and obtained some interesting results. I don't want to prejudice this tread with my findings at this time, but am interested in what others have found. Also, I have no experience with a Jims FF plate and would like to hear what others have found in comparison to the I/R plates. The lake I run on is a small lake with smaller boats. Conditions range from flat to 18" max of small chop with an average of about 10". Speed runs are made in a cove behind an island with the ripples being less than 3". I'll post my findings shortly. Alan

I also have an early IR skegless plate. It's .5 MPH slower that my new FF plate. I'd be very interested in hearing your early vs. MOD4 plate results.

The skegged plates handle much better but I beleive the speed differences (skegged vs unskegged) to be minimal if the plates are machined the same and are set at the same angle.

+1
    All are fast!

After trying Jim's FF plate the IR was on the F/S block. The skegged plate was just as fast if not faster and handled great. Now I have one for the daughters boat set at .850 for the bouy course and she is unpassable!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Prism View Post