Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    EZ Dock of Long Island Shibby1485's Avatar
    +1

Revamping the 99 SLX w/ your help

New-to-me ... 99 Polaris SLX with 64 hours

Symptoms:

Holeshot leaves ALOT to be desired. Sometimes it struggles to get on plane. Sometimes it does nothing when you nail it WOT. It i kinda whack the throttle and pump it a few times it wakes the motor up and then on the 5th pull it pulls pretty good.

I can hold the throttle let's say 1/2 throttle.. just be going along at first, then once it gets going you feel a second wind of power just kick in and the machine starts pulling and going faster without applying more throttle... just smooths out and picks up power and speed after a few seconds of holding it at that throttle position.

these sound carb related? ... this is where it'll get fun, i have ZERO carb experience, only fuel injection. What can i say, i was born in 1985

Top speed on the speedometer was like 54mph @ 6210 rpms

If I am going WOT for a few miles, then kinda slowly let off the throttle and take it off load, it stalls out sometimes. In a 1.5 hour period of riding, it probably stalled about 10 times on me... never at idle and never at WOT... only at cruising it would stall out.

I'm running BR8ES spark plugs. decent? ok? wrong plug? better plug recommended?

Have a vibration somewhere pretty bad if the machine is hooked up on smooth water, the machine feels smooth, but when you are bouncing across chop, everytime the ski gets unhooked it's got a pretty intense vibration

I've always admired the Polaris section of the forum as a spectator on the Seadoo side, but now I'm actually pretty excited about this ski I have. It was cheap enough, good condition, and i have a very open mind to the machine and hope to get it running like some of you say this machine is capable of. Look foward to picking all u guys' minds