Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rocks BAD

Cool Rocks BAD

Just had a call from my son who was out on my 06 RXT, he was taking off from a spot where he had beached the ski when he heard rocks going through the pump. He limped it a short distance across the lake, but said it would rev up but not go very fast.

Will my impeller and wear ring be toast?

For sure your wear ring I would guess. Have to pull it apart and look.

Where do I start? Removing the grate? Is there much to removing the pump, are there any special tools required?

mr. knowitall
    jacksonville fl.
    sounds like the same thing that happened to me though i dont think it was with rocks but rather some leaves, small pieces of an old tree limb, and heck maybe even a small stone or clam shell . it felt like something that wasnt in gear all the way and then poof , it spit it out and off i went( my brothers did the same thing) now i am new to these skis but i am guessing that i did suck up some type of foreign object and the impeller ate it then spit it out. this sounds like a good way to wreck your impeller especially if it couldnt pass thru so my lesson learned is to never run the boat when you are near the bank or are very shallow. i'll push it off the bank and into deeper water before cranking it. check your intake grate when you get it back

Thanks southboundchicken. Apparently the grate looks clean and free of any debri, he said it performed like it had sucked up weeds but he couldn't see any. I wonder if the rock could still be in there?