Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Its better to burn out than fade away christian79's Avatar

96 SL900 Uh Oh Need HELP Please

OK I am just starting out with PWC engines but I imagine that the piston should not just come out on its own right.

So this is where it came from. BTW what is the proper name for each cylinder?

This is the Dome of the offending Piston. Looks like toast to me.

These are the Domes of the other pistons in correct order. These look OK.

This is the crank that looks to be beyond repair to me. Please correct me if I am wrong.

And to add insult to injury the mounting flange for the exhaust broke when the rod let loose. So much for that cylinder.

Finally I noticed that all the domes were wet and had a strange white film on them. Could this just be from the Ski sitting for 2 years. There was not any water in the bottom of the engine.

The previous owner did disclose that this ski needed a new engine so I am not too upset but I would like to solve the issue. By the looks of the Rod and the Dome I am going to assume a lean or no fuel condition. Also the owner had installed Champion plugs instead of NGK.

So what are my options now? Can I build this up to a 1200 using the 900 case with a new crank, cylinders, and domes. If so will I need to replace the carbs. I am used to FI and have never worked on a carb before. However, I have never met a tool or shop manual I did not like. So fire away gentlemen. Also is it even worth the upgrade to the 1200 if possible at all. I like the feel of my other 900 but am always looking for ways to go fast land, air , or sea. Is a 1200 in a 900 hull that much faster. Just how much HP or torque am I gaining? Also what am I looking at for cost. If we are talking 1k or more then I would be better off fixing this one and selling it for an actual 1200 right. Or is my thinking all wrong and is a 1050 a better way to go? After all the ski is 11 years old and I don't want to be upside down in it.

Thanks again

Christian79