Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Water in Hull (RXP)

I am fairly new to boating and was wondering how much is too much water in a hull. A few months ago I never noticed water in my hull at all. Everytime after I am out of the water I wash down the engine, flush, and wash exterior. I always lift my trailer and rest it on the tailgate of my truck so its always on an incline during this whole process.
    Lately I have been seeing some water in the bottom of the hull. Last night I syphoned 2 gallons, from the space in the front compartment right infront of the gas tank. Is this normal?
    The weird thing is that I thought it looked like there was no water in the hull after washing it on Sunday?!
    Any suggestions? Is something leaking?

+1
    Open your front storage compartment (the big one) and check the black sealing boot at the front hinge of it. My 07 would stay bone dry when riding, but when I washed it, I'd get quite a bit of water in the nose of the ski. Found this boot to be improperly seated.
    Last edited by RXPwildchild; 07-17-2007 at 08:20 AM. Reason: typo

I'm kind of a big deal SeanCucf's Avatar
    i had a leak in the hose running from the pump to the intercooler. it runs under the engine so it was a bit challenging to find at first. you might want to check that also. it runs from the pump, up under the exhaust manifold and to the intercooler.

and yes, two gallons is an indication of something wrong.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by RXPwildchild View Post
    Open your front storage compartment (the big one) and check the black sealing boot at the front hinge of it. My 07 would stay bone dry when riding, but when I washed it, I'd get quite a bit of water in the nose of the ski. Found this boot to be improperly seated.
    Ok just checked it. Boot is good.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanCucf View Post