Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Kenny Mack

Talking New Owner 2001 1200 XLT..questions

I am a new owner of a 2001 Yamaha 1200 XLT and have some questions......

1. I was told when filling it with oil just to watch the tank to not overfill.....tried it, overfilled it. Is there some trick to not overfilling???

2. the previous owner gave me a riva xll/xlt 1200 pro pump plug kit......does this keep the runner from cavitating?? How much does it cost to install??? Can I do it myself (I am an average mechanic)???

3. Is there a place I can find out info about the tilt and how to use it properly???

4. there is a fitting on the rear platform that shoots out a rooster tail.....not really into rooster tails....what can I do to talk that out???

Thanks for all of your help!!!!

XLTNoob
    I've got the exact same ski..

1. Just be really careful, and go really, really slow.

2. I'm curious about this myself.

3. All the tilt does is bring the nose of the ski up and down. The nozzle up brings the nose up. In flat water, I like to ride with the nose out of the water, I get a few extra MPH out of it. In rough water, I bring the nose down, it helps keep the ski from porpoising.

4. That's just a "Visibility Spout" I don't have mine blocked off, however, it's a common mod that is done all the time. Doesn't hurt anything at all if you do.

**EDIT**

OMG FORGOT THE MOST IMPORTANT TIPS

When running the ski on the trailer hooked up to the hose, start the engine first, THEN turn on the water. Engine, then water. Engine, then water.

You need to invest in a set of waveeater clips to hold your powervalve pins in. I'm fairly certain I dropped one in mine, and they'll save you hundreds, mabye thousands in repairs.
    Last edited by Jolly Roger; 07-18-2007 at 10:10 AM.

+1
    Did you by any chance buy David's Silver 01 XLT?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by kennymack View Post
    I am a new owner of a 2001 Yamaha 1200 XLT and have some questions......