Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Electrical Problem! NEWBIE HERE!

I just recently acquired a 1995 Polaris SL650 and the previous owner said that the ski would work but it would stall from time to time. Mech said it was a most likely a problem with the electrical box as the motor is only 2 years old.

I've been looking into buying an electrical box from eBay but I don't know the first thing to do to install it. I see where most of the wires go but some lead up to the front and I have no clue how I would get to them because the motor is in the way. There is another small wire that seems to be sealed into the motor also.

Can someone walk me through this? I really want to get this thing working...at least I want to disconnect the existing box so I can take a loook at it OUTSIDE of the ski in a more comfortable position. Could there possibly be a quick fix within the existing electrical box? I NEED HELP!!! Thanks everyone.

+1
    Welcome to the Hulk.
    All of the wires disconnect inside the electrical box. Remove the six bolts and split the box check for water and rust in the box. Report your findings. Whats your 20 there might be some members close to you that can help.

I am in Cleveland Heights, Ohio about 10 minutes east of downtown Cleveland. I will be home from work within the hour and I will get to work disassembling the electrical box. I will report findings tonight. Thanks for the timely response, I have a feeling I'm going to need a lot of help over the next few weeks to get this water ready.

Another question, will I be able to try and fire this thing up in my driveway? I want to be able to test it before I get it to the water.

+1
    I'd also like to say WELCOME!!
    I have a little different direction I'd like to take.
    When you say it stalls are you talking at idle, when coasting in or at WOT?