gpr starting problems

I apogize as I'm a total noob! We just picked up a 2000 gp1200r. Previous owner had it stored for a year. Charged the battery, it held long enough to fire several times (10) out on the lake. Then I filled up with gas, it started drove out of marina in no wake zone stopped engine, and it wouldn't do anything after... No weak cranks, no ticks, just silence when hitting the start button. Today hooked to the charger it fires again. I'm not familiar with how this thing charges while running, but does this sound like a charging issue or bad battery?

+1
    Sounds like a dead battery to me. I just sold a ski that did the same thing to the new owner. I keep my skis on a maintainer, so I never noticed anything wrong. When I delivered it it started no problem for him a couple of times, but after it sat for just a matter of a couple of days, it was dead. (sorry Clint)

Put a new battery in it and see how it goes.

+1
    Yup, sounds like a battery.

+1
    Did you get a new batery.
    Bring your ski out to St Charles so I can check her out.
    How fast is it how did it handle ?
    I bought a back up batery have it sitting till I need it I would have to get some acid it came dry.
    I have acid left over from last 2 bat's but not quite enough.
    When you get your bat even though its charged when you add acid charge it like they tell you to so it has a full charge,they seem to have a memory and charge stronger after a full charge.
    When its charged start the ski and hook a volt meter to the bat to see if your charging or not.

Quote Originally Posted by Flying Scotsman View Post
    Did you get a new batery.
    Bring your ski out to St Charles so I can check her out.
    How fast is it how did it handle ?
    I bought a back up batery have it sitting till I need it I would have to get some acid it came dry.
    I have acid left over from last 2 bat's but not quite enough.