Thread: bendix blues

bendix blues

Hello! I am new to the pwc world and i need some help. I just bought a '94 sl 750 that supposedly only needed a starter. Well, i have replaced the starter and it will spin but the motor will not engage. I then charged the battery and tried again with no luck. From what I've read it seems that the bendix is my problem, but that was supposedly replaced recently. I dont know much about the bendix or how it works. Does it engage mechanically, electircally? Why do they fail? Do i have to replace it? Other than not running the ski seems to be pretty solid, with very few hours. It supposedly has around 200 hrs on it, but the display doesn't work. does it only work when the motor is running? Any help would be appreciated.

thanks,
    matt

+1
    Hi Mat, WELCOME to the Green Hulk Forums!!
    The bendix usually fails due to lack of lubrication (not that it's servicable) so removing it for an inspection is a must. It's located behind the flywheel and you must remove the front timing cover for access.

the guy I got it from said it had a new one. is there any way it may not have been lubricatedd or installed correctly? How much is a new one? how difficult are these covers to take off with the motor still in the hull? how difficult is the engine to remove (i.e. how much stuff will i need to disconnect/remove and how heavy is it)? also, does anyone know where i can find a breakdown for how it works? Thanks for the help!
    Last edited by matt cook; 07-25-2007 at 12:04 PM.

Matt welcome to green hulk I'm having a prob. with my Ben.too the easyer way to get to it is to remove the Eng it's not hard i did it myself but two people will make more easy the best thing to do is to get a shop manual it will walk you tough it setp by setp. good luck

Wankel till I die!! jonjonwells's Avatar