Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Break-in For 4-tec Na

I am a noob and have been riding a 99 GTXRFI for a year and a half. After weeks of shopping, test rides and research, I will pick up my new 07 GTX Friday. 155 na. After the search of this forum and the pwc forum, I have read so many different approaches to the break-in, most for the SC. What about this trend towards warm it up for ten minutes and then some short full throttle runs right away? It sure is tempting. Is there any validity to the method ? I want to do it right and then look at some mods after. Hopefully the experts and guru`s like the Hulk can help.

+1
    I'm sorry but they aren't many mods for that craft so you're out of luck there. For break-in give it that 10 minute warm-up you were talking about. Vary your RPMs constantly and don't be afraid to give it wide open blasts. People around here recommend either 10 seconds of full throttle each hour or 1 second of full throttle for each hour on the machine up to 10 (1 second WOT at 1 hour, 2 seconds WOT at 2 hours etc..)
    I'm sure others will chime in

Thumbs up Thanks

At my age I am already happy with the improvement of stock machine over my 99. I was mainly looking for 4 stroke and more comfort for the often choppy lake I ride on. I do like the speed though and will be hoping for the high 50`s other riders talk about for the GTX 155. The break in tip is great thanks.

Closed mouth no get fed,...... travelboysteve's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JFizzleJR View Post
    I'm sorry but they aren't many mods for that craft so you're out of luck there. For break-in give it that 10 minute warm-up you were talking about. Vary your RPMs constantly and don't be afraid to give it wide open blasts. People around here recommend either 10 seconds of full throttle each hour or 1 second of full throttle for each hour on the machine up to 10 (1 second WOT at 1 hour, 2 seconds WOT at 2 hours etc..)