New owner - 97 SP 800

Hey all, I'm new to the pwc scene and just picked up a 97 sp 800 last week. I got a pretty good deal on it and had it out last weekend. Even though it's not nearly as fast as newer skis, it was a LOT of fun.

I did have a question though. Towards the end of the afternoon, the ski would rev up but wouldn't move. We towed it in and checked, there is nothing stuck underneath. What's weird though is it starts just fine, but the propeller doesn't seem to be turning when I crank it or when it runs. A friend and I had the seat up, and the driveshaft seems to be turning. Any ideas on what to look for? Hopefully it's nothing too serious.

flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    +1
    you should take the pump off the back of the ski. if its the x-4 hull all there is to take off is the four bolts on the back of the ski (17 mm) and on the inside there is three hoses that need to come off two are the factory bilges and the other is the water inlet from the head. then you can pull it off. if it hasnt been off in a while it may be a little tough...be gentle and wiggle it till it comes free.
    you might find that the splines on the shaft or the splines in the impeller may be stripped.
    good luck
    nick

Jug Inspector
    If the drivehaft is spinning, like Nick said pop of the pump off. You're going to have to take the pump off no matter what it is. Although it's not an X-4 hull it's close enough. Pull all the hoses off the inside and take the 4 nuts off with a long extension. Take the trim off, and the steering linkage.

Wiggle it out. It's not easy most of the time.

I vote stripped splines in either the driveshaft or impeller, although it cuould be bearings bust loose and the impeller kind of falls off the driveshaft and bent it.

Are you sure the driveshaft is spinning, and it's not just the PTO coupler?

Bryan