Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    07 GP1300R

Looking for starter wire? Alarm install on GP1300R

I install mobile electronic for a living and plan on putting an alarm system on my PWC.

I plan on putting pin switches underneith the seat and front storage area so that once the alarm is armed if anyone opens either of these, the alarm goes off.

The alarm will also disable the starter once it is armed, but I am having a little trouble finding the starter wire. I've looked at the schematic, but can't really find the actual wire location. Anyone know where it's at?

I haven't started the install, but will post a How-To once it's all done. It's a wonder these things don't come standard with Alarms.

In order to disable the starter, the wire you are looking for is the red wire going to the starter. To find it easily, just look for the red wire going underneath the exhaust manifold (that is where the starter is). There is only one red wire going to this location so you can't mistake it for something else. I am very interested in reading the how-to on this and possibly doing it myself. Remember, take lots of pics every step of the install!

07 GP1300R
    Quote Originally Posted by seadoo951 View Post
    In order to disable the starter, the wire you are looking for is the red wire going to the starter. To find it easily, just look for the red wire going underneath the exhaust manifold (that is where the starter is). There is only one red wire going to this location so you can't mistake it for something else. I am very interested in reading the how-to on this and possibly doing it myself. Remember, take lots of pics every step of the install!
    Sounds good, I'm strapped for cash right now, but it WILL be done sometime next week. I've been planning on it for a while and really shouldn't be too difficult to explain.

07 GP1300R