Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1996 SLX 780 bogs when cold

I have a 1996 SLX 780 that bogs when cold and at first try to apply throttle to it. Have to repeatedly tap the throttle to get the ski to go past idle. It usually dies once or twice before it will accept the throttle. Once it accepts the throttle it will run all day without any problems. What can cause this "cold natured" problem. My compression is 145 to 150 across the cylinders. I have checked all fuel related areas. I use 93 octane and YamaLube tcw3 2m. This ski will run 58-60 mph without a problem after I get past the "cold natured" issue.

I'm a noob but from the knowledge I've soaked up I get the impression that's the nature of the beast. Let 'er fully warm up and then wring it out.

1996 SLX 780 bogs when throtle is applied when cold

Thanks for the suggestion, but running it after a session of the "cold natured" problem is what I am doing now. I really would like to solve this problem so that the ski will perform as it used to.
    Anyone else with any suggestions?

+1
    Have you performed a plug chop to verify you aren't too lean?
    Try opening the lows 1/4 turn and see if that helps. If it does, that's another indication of a lean running condition.
    I'd take the carbs out and check for garbage in them, pay particular attention to the filters.
    The ring floating in the seperator??

Hey isnt that compression and speed a little high, ok maybe alot high?? Help me ph, mine were 120 after a full rebuild.. Top speed was 48-52..

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by gvnitup View Post
    Hey isnt that compression and speed a little high, ok maybe alot high?? Help me ph, mine were 120 after a full rebuild.. Top speed was 48-52..
    His compression gauge is probably off but it's more important that the numbers be within 10%, which they are.