Question about some popular mods (ride plate, intake, etc)

Hey guys, I have an 07 GTI SE 155 that I'm interested in "playing around with" already. I'm an automotive tech by trade and a performance nut so I can't resist the urge to start playing around with my girlfriend and I's new toy. Oh, before you say it, I know the GTI, even with the 155, isn't intended as a performance ski. I'm totally aware that I will never see near the speeds of the supercharged skis and I'm totally cool with that. This is just for fun for me. We mostly just cruise on our ski and tow the tube/wakeboard but I'd love to have a little more zip... who wouldn't? That being said, I had some questions about some of the popular mods:

Ride Plate Holes:
    If I understand correctly, there is a heat exchanger in the ride plate? Does filling the holes and/or painting the plate hurt cooling in any way? Can you really see a 1 MPH gain from doing this? Also, I imagine this makes removing the ride plate a major PITA... is there any service I may need to do one day that requires removing the ride plate?

Cold Air Intake:
    This mod seems like a really good idea to me. It makes sense that you will see a power increase because the stock airbox is pulling hot air from inside the hull. The only thing that makes me hesistant about doing the intake is that the airbox is designed like this for a reason, I'm told by my Seadoo dealer. Apparently the engine is supposed to "vaccuum out" the hull to prevent the buildup of fuel vapours. Air comes in the 4 vent hoses, and the engine pumps it out. What have you guys done about this? Is the intake less safe? What differences did you notice after doing the intake?

Thru-hull Exhaust:
    Are there any gains to been seen from doing this mod? Is it in any way possible to do it without removing OPAS? I'm no stranger to customizing, so if it takes a little messing around, that's okay. And about OPAS... on to my last question...

Removing OPAS: