Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Any cons to boost bleeds?

So I was out at the lake over the weekend when along comes another ski just like mine (so I thought anyway). So, of course, we play a little line-em-up. He walks off from me on top end by more than a good walking speed. (4-5mph maybe?) So, we stop, he offers a chance to start from a dead stop, we do and he pulls me from a stop all the way to top end where, once again, he walks off.
    Needless to say I'm impressed so I pull up and we talk again. He's got a manual boost bleed set-up with two gauges and two bleeders. The actual boost is bled to around 16 but the pressure sensor only sees 12-14 by the other bleed. He mentioned something about a resistor in the air temp sensor to richen the fuel mixture.
    My question is, if it's this simple, there has to be a down-side, right? What could they be? I studied everything he had down to the resistor color code and am very tempted to try it, just don't want to play with fire...
    Btw, it wasn't just my ski having a bad day, my father-in-laws 1300R got walked away from as well...
    Plus, any ideas on the hp with 16psi?
    Last edited by dude; 08-27-2007 at 08:38 AM. Reason: added

+1
    he has no idea what is a/f is by just using the resistor..it might be fine at 80 degrees ambient, then deto at 60. I guess the knock sensor would kick in tho'. Sounds like jim's alpha kit , in which case he's not bleeding the top map sensor and so doesn't have to worry about fuel.

I have one of these on my ski (F-12X) and it made a world of difference over stock. I bought it from superJim. Cost...$150.00. That's why I tried it. I really like it, and have had no problems so far.

Hmm...so I take it this SuperJim sells a kit such as this? It seemed like such a simple set-up by looking at it.
    wilson311; Any idea of the actual gains you made? What boost setting are you running? How high could/have you ran? There HAS to be a down-side, right? Anything dangerous to the motor?