Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Someone borrowed my ski

Went to a lake party Saturday and while I was gone my boss's brother in law borrowed my ski a 1100zxi. When I got back he told me that my ski had died and he had to swim it back.

I was looking at the ski and noticed it was sitting low in the water, pulled the seat and it was half full of water. The brother in law's 7 year old kid then comes up and tells me that his dad flipped the ski while riding with the kid.

I'm still a newbie with skis. The brother in law told to "just ride it, it'll blow that water out". We started it but it quickly died. I took it out of the water, drained it and pulled the plugs. The water blew as high as the tops of trees. We were able to then get it started. It seemed to run OK. I didn't put it back in the water I was too pissed.

Is there anything else I need to check before I put it in the water. I don't really want to get stranded on the lake again. I also did that Saturday when I was told to ride a different ski to charge up the battery. It died in the middle of the lake.

+1
    I would clean out your carbs, the oil and water will leave white crap all over everything. Check compression to make sure you didnt blow a gasket. Then put it in the water to find out how the water got in there, filling it once should not fill it up. Just be gentle untill you know its ok. If you find out something is wrong I think i might have a rebuild kit that i would let you have few a few bucks.

Don't forget to kick your boss's brother-in-law square in the nuts!!!

Always.........always keep your lanyard on you at all times.Do not leave it or a spare in or attached to the ski.That guy had some nerve taking it for a spin without your knowledge.People don't realize how much these things cost,how fast they really are,how to operate them properly,etc.They also don't know the boating laws.Be very careful who you trust with it man,very careful.

I'm pissed and it's not even mine!