Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Results of my compression Test

As my investigation into my 780 SLX continues, I performed a compression test tonight. The front cylinder was 90 psi after several cycles of the starter. First time I hit the starter it went to 60 and then when I hit it again it went to 90 psi.

The center cylinder was at 85 psi and the rear cylinder was at 100 psi.

I did the test with the entire exhaust system including the exhaust manifold removed, and with the carbs removed. Would this have an effect on the numbers? I also had the other 2 plugs removed....would that effect the numbers? Please excuse my ignorance, but I have never done a compression test before.

Other than that I guess this would suggest this is just a tired, worn out motor?

What do ya'll think?

major engine trouble , scored or hole in the cly ,

user malfunction , did you hold the throttle wide open ?

its kinda good you have some compresion might be an easy fix like an oring or small bore clean up job

Can I pull the heads without damaging the gaskets? I want to take a look at the cylinders.

I never even had it on the water. I bought it for a grand thinking it just had a fuel problem. It ran for a week, not well, but it ran and then started making a horrible noise.

If the opinion is the same of everyone then I am just going to cut my losses and sell it.

well bud ill tell ya unless you spent close to 2500-3000 for your ski you dont get a easy fixer or perfect one ,

these guys right here will make you love your polaris plus engine parts are cheap and wrenching is hard as changeing brakes

http://new.photos.yahoo.com/radracin...60762356278416 this is the man
    Last edited by Bone1050; 08-28-2007 at 10:51 PM.

+1
    Hey,