Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: oil question

oil question

Last weekend I changed my oil and oil filter (leveled ski) oil was left at 1/2 mark measured with spare dipstik (no ruber) Sunday went riding to the fla keys with some friends that own rxp's. Lots of racing and wot as you can imagin. Monday wash the ski and parked in garage. Tuesday I checked oil leve and it had barely moved. I was happy I had no blowby. Thursday I checke oil and it was at 3/4 mark, and today when I checked it again it was almost at the full mark. I have no complaints on the jet ski It runs great. I've pull cooler out twice and have not found any oil at all. Any body has an idea what's going on here?

Dayton, Ohio
    I have a similar situation which I posted last week.

I'm no mechanic and my ski is in the shop but here is my thoughts.

My connection at the fuel hose/fuel rail was leaking gas freely. That tells me that gas is running freely through the fuel pump via. pressure in the gas tank or by motor allowing gas to cylinder and trickling down the rings. When you turn off your machine, one or two cylinders and valves would remain open creating a suction effect.

Even though you would think this would cause a flooding effect while starting (some have experienced this) you still have two or three cylinders that where close which would give you enough power to start the engine.

I just don't know what would be faulty or defective to stop the gas from leaking into the motor. I think cars have an electronic fuel shut-off valve that closes when the engine stops and don't know if the Ultra has one or not.

That's my two cents worth on this situation. Hoping to hear back from the dealer soon.

Dayton, Ohio
    Did you store your ski with gas left in you gas tank? If so, how much did you have in your tank?