Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    MIARider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    S. Florida
    Posts
    1,430

    Front motor mount bolt looks wrong !!

    I was looking around my engine today and I noticed that my front motor mount top bolt looked as it it were coming loose. I attempted to tighten it down but it was really hard. Im guessing that it came defected from the factory as this has never been touched before. Can you guys confirm that this bolt should be all the way in. It looks to me as if the bolt got cross threaded during assembly and they just left it in there.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC03439.JPG 
Views:	42 
Size:	1.78 MB 
ID:	39174   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC03438.JPG 
Views:	43 
Size:	1.54 MB 
ID:	39175  


  2. #2
    Hydrotoys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    16,712
    +1
    85
    Great time for a solid front mount.

    Your suspicions are probably true.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    763
    +1
    26
    That ain't right - if you can't remove the bolt - cut the head and remove the whole front mount - the front of the engine can be easily lifted to allow you to slide the mount out with the help of a friend. If you're lucky and can remove the bolt - trie to retap the threads - probable a 8mm tap
    Best of luck.

    Tim

  4. #4
    Fast & Loud meeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Grove, PA
    Posts
    5,019
    +1
    54
    i would just get a solid mount and take it to the hardware store for a new stainless bolt, i used blue loctite on mine.

    or i can find out what size tap you need when i get home from work using my OE mount.

  5. #5
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    eeeeew! Yes, you need the solid front mount ASAP!

  6. #6
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    By the way, they are on sale right now

    http://www.4-tecperformance.com/inde...roducts_id=501

  7. #7
    MIARider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    S. Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    With the new solid mount, does the ride suffer ? I guess im thinking of a car, ive upgraded mounts before on some race cars ive had in the past with polyurethane and the ride has suffered drastically. The car handled great but rode really rough.(the vibrations would rattle your jaw)

  8. #8
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    You won't even know its in there.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. what do 951 motor mount bolts look like???
    By 12rxp in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2012, 07:18 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-17-2010, 02:13 PM
  3. gtx front motor mount bolt broken
    By flojo in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 10:30 PM
  4. rotax racing front motor mount
    By JimC in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-27-2008, 04:48 PM
  5. Wanna get Pirahna Front Motor Mount is it necessary?
    By NeverEndn in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 03:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •