Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: New to this

Question New to this

Hi. im new to the watercraft world, and was wondering if you guys have tips. And what some of the lingo you use in posts. Ex.(Jerry)
    Last edited by RXP22; 09-22-2007 at 09:36 PM.

+1
    welcome to the forum !

Welcome!!

As far as lingo there is way too much to mention, I will guarantee you will pick it up as you read posts.... but here are a few that are commonly not understood...

Green Hulk- The man... Jerry, who runs this site(among his many moderators who are also cool as hell) as well as 4-tecperformance.com

I/C- Intercooler

S/C-Supercharged

NA- Non aspirated(not Supercharged)

Turbo-Diff way to boost engine performance

TTT/Bump- Bring a thread to the top

Hull- Underside protion of the boat, part that sits in the water

Stern-Rear

Bow-Front

Starboard- Right side of the vessel

Port- Left side of the vessel

Pump- Part in the rear underside where the water shoots out

Impeller- 3 or 4 blade cone that is a part of your pump that propells the water

Intake Grate- A physical grate underneath your ski 2-3 feet in front of your pump.... where the water gets sucked in, easy mod with some decent results depending on how you ride

Staged Kits (1,2,3)- Kits offered by Riva to advance the performance of your ski. Thay are sold in Jerry's store... can be cheaper to cut corners and make part of it elsewhere, keep an eye out for ways.

DESS- Digital Encoded Security System... basically your key to your ski... but better as your stock ECU will only accept the one key(or two if your have a training key).

Glass/Chop/Rollers- Ways to describe the water surface

RIVA- Performance company that makes all sorts of parts that can be bolted or atteched to these wonderful skis of ours

Unhook- When your ski physicaly exits the water.... specifically at the grate/rear portion