Newbie Here: Need advice on 1st jet boat

Hey all-

New here...registered a while back though.

OK, I had a Sea Doo pwc a few years back and it was my first watercraft ever. Had a blast but my young daughters were'nt too thrilled with it as they were young.

Now they're a bit older 8 1/2 & 6 and I think a jet boat woulkd be much more fun and practical for a "family toy". They're also to the age where tubing and waterskiing might start to appeal to them. So I think I have already decide that a boat is going to be more practical than a 3 seater pwc.

I have never owned a boat but think that I may want a 4 stroke jet boat. i like the looks and concept of the Sea Doo SCIC 4 strokes, either the Speedster or Sportster. For budgetary reasons, I would try to get a pre-owned 2 year old boat.

With that said, it appears the only concern with the SD 4 tecs is the cermaic washers thing. Is there anything else to watch out for? Also, are the Sugar Sand boats good too?

Any input appreciated.

I personnally own an 05 Challenger 180 with the 215HP SCIC 4tec engine in it, i'm quite satisfied as far as the boat itself....but yet would like a bit better speed from it, so i'm slowly modding it for that...more top-end speed.

Can't tell about the Sugar Sand boats, but the Sea-Doo 4tec engines are very good engines, and if you go with a supercharged one (which i have) there is plenty of potential to unleash new hidden horses....and yes the ceramic washers are a definite thing to replace prior any problems...for the rest it's pretty ok.

If you ever use a SC model....remember to push the boat a bit in deeper water prior to crank it...the supercharged models are real vaccum cleaners, and they can suck rocks big enough to empty your wallet...few feets (3-4) are ok for strating the engine and slowly move away, but NEVER do a full throttle start below 4 feets deep of water...or attempt to start the boat in only 1-2 feets, you'll litterally suck the bottom of the lake/river....!!!