Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

To go Stage 3++ at 100 hours or not...?

I have just put 100 hours on the 05 RXP...85 hours were with stock motor except metal s/c washers and riva power filter...I have since put 15 hours with the mods in my signature below, a stage 2+ boat basically.

I want to go full stage 3++, should I be concerned about engine hours at this point...?
    I know these 4-tecs are capable of two and three times this much, but is that standard life or exceptional...? The boat's previous owner took GREAT care of the ski, that is apparent to all who have looked and worked on it with me. I have taken equally great care of the ski, could probably count on my fingers how many times I have had it unhooked...I am a conservative driver...I love RELIABILITY but this speed bug is really sinking its teeth into me...

Looking for reassurance that my 100 hour boat has lots of life left in it...even if it gets highly modified and still receives the meticulous care it deserves/requires!

Do a compression test, if all is good, I say go for it!

Question

Quote Originally Posted by ARNYGOLLOTT3 View Post
    I have just put 100 hours on the 05 RXP...85 hours were with stock motor except metal s/c washers and riva power filter...I have since put 15 hours with the mods in my signature below, a stage 2+ boat basically.

I want to go full stage 3++, should I be concerned about engine hours at this point...?
    I know these 4-tecs are capable of two and three times this much, but is that standard life or exceptional...? The boat's previous owner took GREAT care of the ski, that is apparent to all who have looked and worked on it with me. I have taken equally great care of the ski, could probably count on my fingers how many times I have had it unhooked...I am a conservative driver...I love RELIABILITY but this speed bug is really sinking its teeth into me...