Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Post What Is The Best Second Pwc?

I purchased my first PWC last year and I got hooked, so now, after 2 years I want to upgrade!

My first PWC is Yamaha VXR 650, single seater. I loved it, until I got to drive my friends Wave Raider 700, two seater. I am 250lbs and I need 2 or 3 seater, the VXR just can't handle my weight. The VXR has been great to me, but its very slow, considerably slower than my friends Wave Raider.

I almost purchased a 2001 GP800R for cheap ($2300), but backed out because of hight hours (140) and because of fuel consumption (12 gallons/hour). My VXR and my friends Wave Raider use about 3.5 to 4.5 gallons every time we use them.

Since I am still new to this I have few questions.
    1. Yamaha makes the most reliable PWCs, right?
    2. How many is too many hours, what is the life of a Yamaha 2 stroke engine?
    3. Which is the most reliable Yamaha 2 stroke engine?
    4. 2 strokes is better than 4 strokes cause everybody can rebuild them at home and they are super easy and cheap to fix?
    5. Fuel consumption is very important for me as fuel prices are over $3.50 for 92 octane where I live during the summer, which 2 stroke Yamaha PWC offers best or very good fuel consumption?

I really have to buy something nice for the next season and I want to buy it during the winter as prices should be much lower than in the spring. From what I know, the best PWC is probably the Wave Raider 700cc, I've heard these engines are super reliable and great on gas? Any suggestions what I should buy?

Thanks for all the help and sorry for all the questions.

+1
    Waveraider is a good choice but why get a 700 when you can start out with a 1100.
    I hate buying gas for my 1200's but its worth it to go faster.
    The more you ride the faster you want to go buy one of my 1200's