Polaris Genesis FI, walk, run, or buy

I am new to the PWC world and in my quest to get something reasonable, I found a 2002 Genesis 1200 fuel injected. After reading through quite a few threads here, it would be apparent the FI version is somewhat problematic. I don't want something I have to tinker with a lot, a little is fine. Is this not the ski for me, or am I reading too much into it and these are not too bad a unit?
    Specs,
    2002 Polaris Genesis 1200
    Fuel Injected
    80 hours
    Great physical condition, doesn't appear to ever be in salt

Thanks a bunch up front, this looks like a great board.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by watermutt View Post
    I am new to the PWC world and in my quest to get something reasonable, I found a 2002 Genesis 1200 fuel injected. After reading through quite a few threads here, it would be apparent the FI version is somewhat problematic. I don't want something I have to tinker with a lot, a little is fine. Is this not the ski for me, or am I reading too much into it and these are not too bad a unit?
    Specs,
    2002 Polaris Genesis 1200
    Fuel Injected
    80 hours
    Great physical condition, doesn't appear to ever be in salt

Thanks a bunch up front, this looks like a great board.
    As others will say, it depends on what you want, and how much self-servicing you like to do.

I am in the market myself for a pair of Polaris injected 2-stroke boats, just one size down from the Genesis i.

Keep in mind that the 4-stroke Polaris fuel injected motors (Weber engines, Bosch injection) are completely different engines, and share no parts with the 2-stroke "Fitch" injected motors.

The Fitch injected Polaris 2-stroke motors did cause some consternation when they first came out, as people were unfamiliar with them. It took a while for the common issue to become understood, and develop effective diagnosis techniques.