Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need Help.........

Alright guys, I am new to jet ski’s but have had years of experience with quads and dirt bikes. I have a 97 sea-doo xp I picked up this summer. It has trouble starting, it take about 15 seconds to hold the start button and full throttle to start, and when I shut it down, I have to cut the gas right away or it will flood. But that is not the problem. When I was out the other day I was driving around with full power for about 1 hour. Then I shut it down and hung out for a little while with the gas turned off. Then when I went to start it, it took about 5 minutes off and on for it to start. When it started and I had it at FULL THROTTLE, it would barley idle, and when I went to let off the throttle it slowly died, and I gave it full throttle again. After a few minutes at full throttle it started to hobble along to full throttle, and I could let go and get back on the throttle like normal. Then a kid tried getting on the back, and after it almost flipped a few times, we stopped trying. I tried starting it up, and it wouldn’t start. I got to the shore and pulled the plugs, to show the gap of the spark plug was full of a milky residue. I cleaned the plugs, blew out the cylinders, and went to start it, but after many tries, I couldn’t get it to fire.
    So I brought it home (did not tow it in the water, pushed it back by hand) and hooked it up to the hose just in case. I tried to start it and I couldn’t get anything. When I shot a little starting fluid into it, it almost started. And that is the last step I did. Does Anybody no what could be wrong. I have spark and plenty of fuel. Any help would be appreciated.

Banned User
    Sounds like have a water leak either in the head gasket ( they are orings ) or a Base gasket I would pull the head and take a look at the orings. ALso it sounds like you need a carb rebuild especially the needle and seats and check the fuel tank vent.

Quote Originally Posted by JOJO567 View Post