Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mahomet, Il. USA
    Posts
    6,004
    +1
    163

    dumb carb question

    so i went to pull the carbs off the ol' 96XP and ran into a problem...how in the heck do you get the throttle cable and choke cable off the carbs? i fudged with it for about an hour and couldn't figure it out. Anyone have a solution or ideas?
    thanks in advance...


  2. #2
    96XPSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA Home of the 2007 All-Star Little League World Champions!
    Posts
    4,361
    Loosen the two lock nuts keeping the one closest to the outer sheathing in place. Back the other nut completely off. Pull the threaded sheathing out of this holder, and fish the cable itself through the slot. Then swing it around the pulley, and you will see another slot on the pulley, that the cable end slides down through when the cable is perpendicular to the wheel.

    The purpose behind keeping the nut in place is to eliminate readjusting everything when you put it back together.

    Repeat on oil pump cable if you still have it connected.
    Last edited by 96XPSS; 10-18-2007 at 06:39 AM.

  3. #3
    flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mahomet, Il. USA
    Posts
    6,004
    +1
    163
    thanks for the info, i'm putting bigger carbs on so will that hold true for reattaching the cable to the new carbs?

  4. #4
    JayZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    mississauga, ontario
    Posts
    407
    +1
    1
    you will have to re-adjust the nuts to align the oil pump and ensure that the carbs are opening all the way.

  5. #5
    flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mahomet, Il. USA
    Posts
    6,004
    +1
    163
    i'm in the process of putting on the new carbs and just realized that there is not a place to put the choke cable, refer to thred (96 XP movin on up) for pix.
    i'm still having trouble with the choke cable coming off also. in addition, will i have to move the pullys over from the old carbs as well for the throttle?
    thanks again

  6. #6
    steach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Rock Tavern, NY
    Posts
    3,174
    +1
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by airbornexp View Post
    i'm in the process of putting on the new carbs and just realized that there is not a place to put the choke cable, refer to thred (96 XP movin on up) for pix.
    i'm still having trouble with the choke cable coming off also. in addition, will i have to move the pullys over from the old carbs as well for the throttle?
    thanks again
    There are tiny set-screws that lock the choke cable (bar) to the brass blocks on the carbs.

    Do your new carbs have choke plates? (most dont) You can install a primer pump in the hull where the choke cable is now.

  7. #7
    flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mahomet, Il. USA
    Posts
    6,004
    +1
    163
    Do your new carbs have choke plates? (most dont) You can install a primer pump in the hull where the choke cable is now.[/quote]


    can you describe the choke plates? there isnt a place to even put the choke cable, just the throttle. and does that primer pump come in electric or is it a hand pump?

    here are some pix to show what i have going on... old carbs and new
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	102107_1206a.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	46.2 KB 
ID:	42539   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	102107_1208a.jpg 
Views:	36 
Size:	46.9 KB 
ID:	42540  

  8. #8
    96XPSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA Home of the 2007 All-Star Little League World Champions!
    Posts
    4,361
    All aftermarket performance carbs don't have chokes...which is easily confirmed by looking into the throats and seeing the choke plate(butterfly) missing...

    Flip the aftermarket carbs over and you should see a small brass barb in place of what once was the choke plate shaft. There should be one on each carb. Shoot us a pic of the other side if you can't find them.

    Time to buy a primer.

  9. #9
    flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mahomet, Il. USA
    Posts
    6,004
    +1
    163
    i figured id be buying a primer, but here are the pix that you wanted to see...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	102207_1407b.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	51.0 KB 
ID:	42628   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	102207_1408a.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	46.8 KB 
ID:	42629  

  10. #10
    flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mahomet, Il. USA
    Posts
    6,004
    +1
    163
    sorry for the double i couldnt edit ,heres the other...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	102207_1407a.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	47.5 KB 
ID:	42630  

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Dumb Carb Question..
    By raptorobbie in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-22-2014, 12:30 PM
  2. dumb carb question??????
    By sullified in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 02:49 PM
  3. dumb carb question
    By hitman in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-28-2007, 03:46 PM
  4. carb question for 800
    By ozzygp in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2006, 02:38 AM
  5. STOCK CARB QUESTION
    By Tommy Gun in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-28-2006, 10:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •