Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mad about machines

Whether to buy SL750

Hi all, I am new to the Jetski scene as have been a boatie and am looking at buying a SL750. Just wanting to know what things to look for in terms of tell tale problem signs.
    I am aware it has had a piston replaced recently and so will need to be run in. This being said how do I know what would have caused the piston to blow?? may just check crank etc to be sure there's no damage/warping. There is paperwork i will check.
    Just after a few procedures for when I inspect it as it wont be tested on water just with hose through it.
    Also how do these skis go at towing wakeboarders as I would be keen to try that every once in a while when im not blatting around pissing off all the boaties.
    Would love some feedback as I am a newbie and don't want to be ripped blind.
    Thanks a lot for any help
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	possible SL750.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	24.9 KB 
ID:	43944  

Lake Mead Bum & BTLS Mark starflight's Avatar
    +1
    To start, you shouldn't tow anyone with it. You need a 3 seater to legally tow. Check compression before ya buy if ya can.
    The pistons usually get damaged when they are run w/ a lean condition. Fuel delivery issues are the main cause. Faulty fuel pump, kinked fuel lines, clogged filters or pickup strainer in fuel tank are the usual causes. Fuel cut-off valves sometimes can be a cause.
    The 650 and 750's came w/ single outlet fuel pumps that need to be updated to tripple outlet.
    I suggest to you if you buy it, change all fuel lines and shut off valve. Clean the carbs and replace the pump if its a single. replace the pump pulse line and keep the length under 10".
    If properly maintained, they are dependable skis.
    Good luck.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by jaminjarmin View Post