+1

96 XP Engine Not Charging Battery

I'm new to SeaDoo's and fairly new to jetski's.....

I bought this ski and fired it up for the first time. The battery light on the dash was blinking, so I put my multimeter on the battery posts and I'm getting 11.93v with the engine running and 12.0 with the engine off....running it on the trailer.

Other that this problem, the engine starts rights away and runs well on the trailer.

Where do I start? The battery was topped off and is fairly new. The previous owner always kept it on a trickle charger. Plus it cranks the engine strongly....doesn't seem like a battery issue.

The positive cable also has a small wire hooked to the battery with it....is there anything else that is hooked to the negative beside the cable?

Thanks,

Ron

Warner Robins, GA Home of the 2007 All-Star Little League World Champions!
    The small black wire coming from the black box should be on the negative terminal, not the positive. The large red positive wire should be alone when connected.

You hopefully only fried the rectifier. Check the fuses in the front gray box...maybe it blew and saved you.

I can't believe it runs without this wire connected properly...something very strange is going on...

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by 96XPSS View Post
    The small black wire coming from the black box should be on the negative terminal, not the positive. The large red positive wire should be alone when connected.

You hopefully only fried the rectifier. Check the fuses in the front gray box...maybe it blew and saved you.

I can't believe it runs without this wire connected properly...something very strange is going on...
    My bad....I just went to look at it again...the negative has the little wire...the positive only had the positive cable...sorry for the confusion...

So what do I check first? Thanks....

+1