Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Chevron Gas observation

I have been frequenting 2 different gas stations for that past several years. A few weeks ago, I was out of juice and in a rush so I pulled up to a Chevron pump and filled up with a sad $80 worth. I am accustomed to getting anywhere from 14.8 to 15.4 MPG in my truck and it is habit for me to reset my trip meter and check at each fill-up

Well, after filling with the Chevron and checking I got 16.6. I was shocked and filled up there again to check results and 16.5 the second time around. Has anyone else noticed such a difference between brands? I was using Racetrac and Murpys before as they are always about 5-7 cents cheaper per gallon and I drive past these stations almost daily. There are only a handful of oil companies out there so I didn't think there was a noticable difference between brands but am now thinking otherwise. Any comments or experiences ?

+1
    Did you use the same octane?

I remember back in the day that Chevron was the sh-t! maybe their techtron chemicals/additives are in their fuel possibly promoting better burn.
    the problem we have down here in NJ with no name brands is you never know wht your getting and at this day and age price dictates what you put in the tank, to an extent.
    I use Sunoco and wawa fuel alot and have no idea who supply`s wawa...
    and I often have my doubts with name brand stations bc I don`t see a brand name when the tankers are filling the stations...
    I always thought that if you were buying sunoco or Getty, you were buying just that ...PR...