Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Jetski Virgin

Jetski Virgin

Hi guys, I'm new to Jetskiing and need some sound advice.

I have been offered a Polaris Virage 700 (2002 model). The guy who is selling it claims it has recently had an engine rebuild, new starter motor and E.C.U.(or is it called a C.D.I.)?
    Took it for a test ride for 1/2 hour and the ski seemed fine. A week later when I picked it up, it would not start. Garage looked at it and said it was the choke stuck open.
    Put it on the water an hour later and had been riding for approx. 20mins when the engine suddenly cut out on its own accord. Tried to start it again but just got a loud click/clunk. I had a look to see if anything had worked loose or was broken but all seemed in place.
    Took it back to the garage and the guy said starter motor and the electronics are in good order. However, he said the battery was losing charge even though he had recharged it a few hours earlier and this would cause the engine to cut out because the battery provides power for the ignition.
    He replaced the battery with a new one and I went to test ride it, at the garages stretch of water. It started fine and all seemed well until I squeezed the throttle and the jetski didn't move, no propulsion whatsoever. Garage took it apart and found the driveshaft splines and impeller splines had completely worn away,(engine alignment incorrect)?

The question is, shall I walk away from it because it may have underlying problems that are causing these faults or is it just unfortunate coincidence?
    Apologies for the length of thread but any advice from you experienced skiers would be massively appreciated.

Welcome to the Green Hulk Forums!!!