Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Do i need to re-jet my carbs??

I have a 1200pv that i have just rescently rebuilt, and i am unsure what to do carbwise as i am a newbie. I had the cylinders re nikilsiled, and im using wsm platinum top end... I have riva hig compression heads, d-plate, and free flow. Also using anew case, and crank. I already have the engine assembled, but before i go any further i want to address the stock carbs. I was told that with opening up the exhuast as much as i have that i need to re-jet or tune the carbs accordingly to compensate for the increased airflow or the engine will run too lean and my top end wont last long at all... Is this true??? If so what do i need to do to my carbs to make this engine run correctly, and to keep it from running lean? Thats the only big question i have. Oh and whats the trick to getting these engines in. I noticed that last time i tried to install it the exhaust was hell to wrestle with trying to get in. Do i put the exhaust(lower pipe) first, or do i wait until the engine is in?? And lastly if you have any other suggestions on building a new engine, or something i might run in to you advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

p.s. Whats the best impeller to run with my mods? Looking for top speed, but still want some low end take off...

thanks

Kurt

2000 Yamaha xl limited 1200pv
    Last edited by kurt1200; 12-10-2007 at 09:46 AM.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by kurt1200 View Post
    I have riva hig compression heads, d-plate, and free flow. I was told that with opening up the exhuast as much as i have that i need to re-jet or tune the carbs accordingly to compensate for the increased airflow or the engine will run too lean and my top end wont last long at all... Is this true???
    Yes

If so what do i need to do to my carbs to make this engine run correctly, and to keep it from running lean?
    Are you going to use open flame arrestors ?