Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

A night of being homeless, my experience

I just wanted to share my experience I had being homeless for one night.

To start this was a project I did for school. I am a Criminal Justice student at the local technical college. This project was extra credit for class so to say it was not required. The project was designed to raise awareness about what domestic abuse victims, and how you may just have to walk away with nothing.

The guidelines of the project were: we were allowed to dress for the weather. ~20 degrees when we started. We had to give up any thing that may have value (watched, wallet, cell phone, cigarettes, ect.) We couldn’t solicit any one we knew within the past two years for help. Of course we couldn’t do anything illegal. There were two groups of 4 people for safety. The two groups could not combine. No individual could leave the group.

Our task was to survive the night out on the streets. We had to meet our instructor at a local restaurant that is about 4 miles away. We started at 5 pm Monday and finished at 6 am Tuesday. The temp was about 13 during the night.

This sounds easy enough but I would not choose to do this again.

We walked a lot. We went to the local shopping mall just to hang out. Couldn’t buy any, no money. We did get a free piece of sample chicken. Then we walked through about 10 drive thru’s to pick up change that was dropped at the window. Was only got .96 We asked lot of places for food that they would be throwing out but everyplace said no. I found someone that was nice enough to give me a dollar. My group then bought a soda to have. At about 11pm we set up at a laundry mat. We all were getting very hungry since the project started before most of us ate dinner. We stayed there until about 4:30 am when we had to walk to the restaurant. Its tough trying to sleep on a hard table. The building wasn’t that warm either. I think the total distance we walked through out the night would be about 15 miles.