+1

'99 XP limited questions

I have a chance to pick up a "99 XP limited, owner states "non running, needs new engine" He started at 2100.00, but I can probably pick it up for 1000.00-1500.00.

What can you guys tell me about this particular model? Is it 2 or 4 stroke? What are my options/cost for repowering? Rebuild (depending on problem) or replace? I'm a auto tech and rebuilt my Polaris, is rebuild difficult ie. special tools needed?

any info appreciated

The ski's have taken a "backseat" to the Corvette DarthAWM's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    I have a chance to pick up a "99 XP limited, owner states "non running, needs new engine" He started at 2100.00, but I can probably pick it up for 1000.00-1500.00.

What can you guys tell me about this particular model? Is it 2 or 4 stroke? What are my options/cost for repowering? Rebuild (depending on problem) or replace? I'm a auto tech and rebuilt my Polaris, is rebuild difficult ie. special tools needed?

any info appreciated
    Its a two stroke 951 Rotax engine. Rebuilding shouldn't be particularly hard compared to a Polaris. One thing that should be checked is if the MPEM is bad. its expensive and somewhat hard to find.

+1
    Thanks for the reply. I haven't checked to see if it's locked up. thrown a rod, injested water, etc.

Doesn't the 951 have a bit of a bad rep. Seems like I've heard some negative comments about it.

I assume the MPEM is the electronic control unit? When you say expensive do you mean 200.00 expensive or 1000.00 expensive?

How do they handle? What about top speed and acceleration? Are they stable boats? Is it a "dry" ride or more on the wet and wild side?

What are these things worth is running condition? I've only seen pictures on CL but this particular ski seems to be in good cosmetic condition and is a fresh water only ski.

The ski's have taken a "backseat" to the Corvette DarthAWM's Avatar