Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

jet ski diagnosis

Hey guys,
    This is my first post but I have been lurking around here since spring. Anyway I need some opinions from you all.
    First of all I have reviewed numerous posts thru the search function but have not found an answer that satisfies me.
    So... I have a 2000 GP 1200, Been sitting for a while when I got it 2 years ago with only 23 hrs on the ski. Rode it numerous times with no problems whatsoever, ran great. Last time I had it out in September I was running down the lake and without warning, it was like a switch was flipped and it just died. Would not start back just clicked. Had ran fine up until then. No warning. Got towed back, how humbling, and looked at fuses and tested my batt. Battery was weak and would not accept charge. So, I bought a battery and it starts up after some coaxing, but didn't sound right. I did a compresssion test and got the following #1 cyl- 0! #2 cyl- 100 # 3 cyl 100. Well I'm new to 2 stroke engines but I know from working on V8's that's problem. So, What do you figure I'm dealing with here? Could it be as simple as a blown head gasket, or more than likely a possible loss of oil distribution and siezed up. I know there is now way to know for sure with out cracking it open, but I was curious what the general concensous might be. From reading posts here I can tell there are some sharp guys on here, just wished some of you lived closer! Any opinions would be greatly appreciated. I'm afraid all I have now is a really nice trailer!

Thanks for reading,

Marlton, NJ
    Welcome to the forums.
    You have squeeked/seized the piston on #1. Unfortunately the motor (min. at least #1) is going to need to be torn apart.
    You really won't know the extent of the damage until you pull the head and take a look. Take some pics and post them up. You'll get more advice than you'll know what to do with.

It could have been caused by many things. The most common are:
    -oil line popping off