Battery acid buildup

Every winter when I put away my ski I notice a buildup all over my battery and my regulator/rectifier...I clean it best I can but I got a brown discolorization in that area. Are you guys using anything to pre spray your battery or that general area to help.... Know of any products that would help me out..Sorry I'm a noob

P.S. Is any of that gonna mess up my regulator
    Last edited by RXP_Noah; 01-10-2008 at 06:27 PM.

Talking acid build-up residue

The acid build-up is due to your battery drain hole which is pointing down to the rectifier bracket when it drains the water residue everytime you ride your ski. It happen to my brand new ski when I first rode it I noticed that this acid was eating my rectifier and battery hold down bracket. . The solution is simple: Go to any Marine supplier store and buy a 6-7 feet long see through drain hose the size of your battery drain nozzle (which is on the top side of your battery) and redirect it to drain the battery fluid under the engine, so when you finish washing your engine bay after you ride, everything gets flush right down your flush system.

there is supposed to a battery vent hose from the factory that goes outside the hull through a chck valve on all ski's, it's probably there but not connected to the battery.

Thanks for the help. Is there any type of solution that I could put on the already damaged area to make it resist that acid.........My brother told me I should pour coke all over the battery and parts..I thought I should use something that would last a little longer?

Quote Originally Posted by RXP_Noah View Post
    Thanks for the help. Is there any type of solution that I could put on the already damaged area to make it resist that acid.........My brother told me I should pour coke all over the battery and parts..I thought I should use something that would last a little longer?