Newbie questions about holes in 96 Challenger and more...

I purchased a 96 Challenger last week. I'm a total newbie to jet boats. Our only prior boat experience is a 13' inflatable with a 25hp Yamaha outboard which we'v had a lot of fun with over the past year. I have a few questions after the Challenger's maiden voyage on Saturday:

Can someone tell me what these small holes are for in the hull?

The airbox appears to have been drilled out for better breathing. It seems like that would make it more prone to suck in water if somehow water splashed in the engine compartment. Is there really any performance benefit to drill out the air box like that?

I use the boat in the ocean. After flushing the motor, is it necessary to spray the lube in the carbs and then spray some in the spark plug holes if you plan to use the boat within the month? Or is the spraying of lube in the engine just for long term storage?

We rode it pretty hard for 2 hours on Saturday. Twice the motor died. Each time was when we throttled down after running it hard. It started right up after a few seconds sitting. Nothing happened at first when we pushed the start button. But after waiting a few seconds the engine turned over when we hit the start button and it started up immediately. Does this sound like a problem that needs to be checked out or do these 2 strokes sometimes cut out when you cut the throttle?

What is the purpose of the VTS lever? I know it directs the jet flow up or down to adjust the pitch of the boat. However, I didn't really notice much change in anything moving the lever up and down while running. Only me and my son in the boat at the time. I just saw this in Google now: "it uses a variable trim system that allows the pilot to adjust the angle of the waterjet down for incredible hole shots, up for maximum top end."