Thread: Flipping a GPR

+1

Flipping a GPR

And I don't mean a quick turn-around resale!

I need to flip an '01 GP1200R to refinish the hull. What are some things I need to be careful of when doing this? Does the engine need to be blocked or will the mounts & stringers take the upside down load? I plan on emptying the gas & oil, but what else? I've done this several times with empty hulls, but this is my first attempt with an assembled ski.

Thanks!

PS. I have an idea of how I want to actually turn it over, but I'd like to hear anyone's experiences with this. I doubt I'll have any help, so "six big guys & a couple of cases" won't work.

I would empty the fuel tank and take the engine out. If you can trust flipping the ski with the engine in it, i dont, the hull would flex and not give you good results. you want to have no weight on that hull when sanding.

Oh forgot take the battery out too. By doing all this it should lighten the hull enoguth that 2 to 4 people could lift it and flip it over.
    Last edited by krispaintballz; 02-18-2008 at 06:32 PM.

+1
    Thanks for the input. I won't be truing the hull - just refinishing. Some flex shouldn't be an issue. I just don't want the engine to end up on the floor I really don't want to take it out if there is a way to avoid it. I have so many projects in the works I really need to be efficient.

Battery's been out for so long it didn't even occur to me!

Obsessive Compulsive ;)
    +1
    If you want to go the easy way, flip it over and shore it up with some wood to take the load.

I had a Sea-Doo motor end up on the floor from not doing this once.

+1
    Yeah, I've heard those horror stories about the early Sea-Doo "drop-outs" That's what prompted me to ask about this project.

There's not much of a lip under the GPR seat opening, hopefully it'll be enough.