Thread: Impeller pitch

Impeller pitch

Newbie here....
    How does the pitch of an impeller affect the performance of the ski? what would the difference in performance be between a 13/19 and 12/17 be if installed in a GPR?
    By the way, what would be the most common pitch on a stock ski?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by joaqslam View Post
    Newbie here....
    How does the pitch of an impeller affect the performance of the ski? what would the difference in performance be between a 13/19 and 12/17 be if installed in a GPR?
    By the way, what would be the most common pitch on a stock ski?
    a stock 800r should run a 11/14 i believe

Quote Originally Posted by stingray152003 View Post
    a stock 800r should run a 11/14 i believe
    thanks for that info but again, how does the pitch affect the performance and how do you know what pitch to get? Is it based on fitment or output?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by joaqslam View Post
    thanks for that info but again, how does the pitch affect the performance and how do you know what pitch to get? Is it based on fitment or output?
    im not a impeller expert far from it and some one can step in and correct me.

the pitch of the impeller is the angle of the blades. the steeper the angle the greater amount of water that can be pushed through the pump.

you want the correct pitch from your impeller if you under pitch your engine will not be able to utilize all the power. if you over pitch your engine will struggle and you wont be able to get up to speed. you sorta have to imagine impeller like a transmission in a car and if you have to low of gear ratios or to high of a gear ratio your car wont run a peak performance same with a impeller.

i believe the 11/14 pitch stand for the fact that the prop has two different pitches allowing the impeller to be efficient at low and high speeds. impellers can be repitched slightly.