Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    richmond virginia
    Posts
    171

    riva ecu,activate

    what needs to be done to activate a riva ecu? called seadoo and they have no idea what im talking about.. i told them it needed to be hooked to the buds system to be activated with the throttlebody and they still have no idea. im starting to think i have no idea what im talking about. a little help from you guys would be nice..


  2. #2
    AKA "The Guppy" JeffTurbo601's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    991
    you need to have acess to the buds system. you have to call riva, they will call brp and call you back with an activation code. then you can run it through buds. you have to do this at a dealer...it will void your warranty

  3. #3
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,059
    +1
    790
    Just pull off your Stock ECU and throttle body and send it to Riva with the Riva ECU. They will do it for you. This is what I did.

    Very simple.

    I overnighted it there and back.

    .

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    richmond virginia
    Posts
    171
    cant i just take the whole ski in to seadoo and keep the throttle body on and have it activated? does the throttle body need to be removed? or can they just plug it in while its on the ski?

  5. #5
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    As per the installation instructions that will come with your Riva ECU.

    When you get your ECU you will see the instructions that say to call Riva for an activation code. The girl will give you the code of which you will take to your dealer along with your ski. (stock ECU still installed)

    They will read information off your stock ECU, hook the Riva ECU up and then transfer info from your stock ECU to the Riva to complete the activation.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    richmond virginia
    Posts
    171
    thanks jerry,and everyone else for all your help..

  7. #7
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,059
    +1
    790
    Yes, but let see if his Dealer is compatent enough to do it.

    That is another Story.

    Why I sent it to Riva.


    .

  8. #8
    Kiwi spanner handler
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Christchurch NewZealand
    Posts
    579
    +1
    13
    I have done a few if they are usuing the older mpi comunication kit make sure they have a power cord or batteries connected to it otherwise you cant unplug the old ecu and plug new one in we got caught out by this as we didnt realize the power adapter we used wasnt actually working so the kit was using the skis power so when you unplug the ecu buds lost comunication and wouldnt work.
    Other than that the riva ecu swap is easy as buds has the step by step instructions (wonder how much that cost riva!) and yet you can buy a riva ecu cheaper than a new stock ecu.

  9. #9
    JFizzleJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    8,626
    +1
    806
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Hulk View Post
    As per the installation instructions that will come with your Riva ECU.

    When you get your ECU you will see the instructions that say to call Riva for an activation code. The girl will give you the code of which you will take to your dealer along with your ski. (stock ECU still installed)

    They will read information off your stock ECU, hook the Riva ECU up and then transfer info from your stock ECU to the Riva to complete the activation.
    What if the motor never had a stock ECU???

  10. #10
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    Then you will have to call Riva and see what they can work out for you

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. RIVA ECU activations problem
    By repsol in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-06-2009, 01:56 PM
  2. Riva Ecu Activation
    By skoepp in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 01-22-2009, 02:18 PM
  3. 2006 riva ecu activated
    By FAST RXP in forum Sea Doo Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2008, 04:38 PM
  4. 04-05 Riva ECU ACTIVATION
    By kp04rxp in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-10-2008, 10:57 PM
  5. 05' No warranty left, need help with RIVA ecu activation
    By MIARider in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-21-2008, 09:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •