Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Exclamation Waveater clips !!!

I am starting to understand why waveater clips are so neccessary. I took off my power valve covers tonight in hopes of taking out the valves but could not get the first rod out due to the exhaust being in the way. Anyway I am still fairly new to wrenching on my GP but am getting their and am definateley hooked. I have the service manual and it seems you should be able to get the valves out but what about that first shaft where the YPVS cables are connected too. When you try and pull out after removing clips you cannot get past it...Help and advice please....
    What do you guys recommend replace valves and along with adding clips?

+1
    Did the shaft move at all or did it hang at the seal? Basicly you remove the bolt on the arm and the clip to remove it. Sometimes the slotted end has sprung open a bit or there may be burrs on them. squeze it closed a bit and de-burr it with some sandpaper.

The wave eater clips keep the pin in the shaft from sliding out the side. This causes the valve to drop and take out your piston. more of a safety fix than a performance mod but is necessary on the PV motors.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by OsideBill View Post
    Did the shaft move at all or did it hang at the seal? Basicly you remove the bolt on the arm and the clip to remove it. Sometimes the slotted end has sprung open a bit or there may be burrs on them. squeze it closed a bit and de-burr it with some sandpaper.

The wave eater clips keep the pin in the shaft from sliding out the side. This causes the valve to drop and take out your piston. more of a safety fix than a performance mod but is necessary on the PV motors.
    I was unable to pull it out all the way due to the fact that the exhaust was in the way. Everything slid smooth including the shaft (no burrs). Just could not get the shaft pulled out far enough to be able to remove the valve. Does that make sense??

+1