Thread: FL Jetski laws?
03-07-2008, 08:51 AM #1
FL Jetski laws?
I'm leaving for Dania/Ft Lauderdale tomorrow with the Octane and SLX (!), and it just occured to me this morning, what are the laws in FL? For example, no one in NY can operate a jetski unless they have a valid Boater Safety card, and are at least 14 yrs of age.
Any special rules in FL?
Sorry, no pics of the Octane yet! I still haven't seen it! I think it's in a truck somewhere in Illinois right about now......
03-07-2008, 08:57 AM #2
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Homer Glen Il.
Where at in il. i can go look at it for you
03-07-2008, 09:01 AM #3
I90, Eastbound, going about 70mph! In the back of a boat hauler's truck... Coming from Montana, a recommendation from Randy at Watcon. He told me about this Octane and another, the other one was in Indianapolis, but before I could arrange shipping and get the guy a check, he sold it to someone else.
This one from Montana is kinda a fixer-upper, the one in Indy was absoulutely perfect, and $2k more than this one. The Indy boat was Dave Zier's; Dave was a world champion racer back in the '90s.
Last edited by delagem; 03-07-2008 at 09:05 AM.
03-07-2008, 09:09 AM #4
Florida Jetski laws
You can operate a Jetski in FL at age 14 if you take the course (can
be done online) and get a boater safety card. You can ride at 16
without a card.
You have to be 18 to rent from commercial rental place.
Obey all regular boating laws.
That's about it.
Stop by Kissimmee River south of Orlando if you're coming that way
for a big event by SoFla Riders PWC club. You read all about it
on SE rides.
03-07-2008, 11:28 AM #5
- Join Date
- Apr 2007
- JUST NORTH OF CUBA-- FL,KEYS
1 funny rule!!!!
the only law i live by ---IS IF SOMEONE BRINGS BAGELS FROM NY THEY GET TO RIDE MY PRO FOR AN HOUR the same rule goes for pizza BUT that wont travel well-----
slide down another 2 hours and I can take you fishing
enjoy your trip
03-09-2008, 05:31 AM #6
03-09-2008, 09:16 PM #7
Great place to launch
Off the beaten path but central to a lot of good riding...
03-10-2008, 07:47 PM #8
Oh, and the law that says "if you ride a jetski you are presumed guilty!".... I launched out of Holland Park this afternoon, rode up to the port, turned around in the Port Everglades turning basin, and was chased down by the boys in blue. USCG. They told me I was speeding in the Security Zone. I pointed out that I never entered the Security Zone, which runs west from the Intercoastal over to the cruise ship and tanker berths. I pointed out that if I went any slower, I would have fallen(I was on the Octane). My son later told me we were going 6mph, or 5knots. I pointed out that I teach boater safety, and that I hold a USCG Unlimited Master's license (Captains' License). I got a written warning.
Guess the unofficial rule is, you're not welcome here!
Oh well, at least in the one area where I was able to go above 10mph (just north of Holland Park), the Octane was every bit of what I hoped it would be!
03-10-2008, 07:55 PM #9
on one of the lakes just south of Holland Park should be "make all the wake you want" zone...
03-10-2008, 08:09 PM #10
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
By FullThrottle in forum Sea Doo Open DiscussionReplies: 5Last Post: 03-15-2006, 03:05 PM
By Shibby1485 in forum Sea Doo Open DiscussionReplies: 6Last Post: 03-12-2006, 09:41 PM
By xcduetester in forum Sea Doo Open DiscussionReplies: 8Last Post: 11-22-2005, 02:09 PM
By BrAinZ in forum Sea Doo Open DiscussionReplies: 2Last Post: 11-03-2005, 03:09 PM
By Shibby1485 in forum Sea Doo Open DiscussionReplies: 3Last Post: 09-19-2005, 02:18 PM