Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Sea Doo Bashing?

I have been looking into buying some new skis. I have been posting and trying to do some reasearch. So far an RXP and RXT seem to be good choices for me but spending $20k is a lot for me and I wanted to make the right choice.

I have been noticing on other forums, seadoo bashing. Mostly reliability issues. I am an ok mechanic but I really dont want to do anything more then normal or heavy maintenance. I am not into making repairs.

I know this is an RXP board and you guys are partial to seadoos but please give me a realistic view.

(by the way, you guys have been very helpful to me so far and I really appreciate it)

+1
    Just look past the bashing. Sea Doo has had their share of problems in the past some of them very serious and still have problems even with the newest units. It's my opinion, that non-problem skis out-number problem skis.

RXP and RXT both could have clutch failures depending oh how hard you ride. It's a wear item, replace it if it fails.

I know of 2 RXP's that had issues with fiberglass in the pumpshoe. Mine is one of them, dealer fixed it.

RXP is a large heavy ski and the RXT is larger, while you can turn and be playful with them there are other skis out there that do it better. Some say they are both only good for fast straight riding, i disagree but I am trying to be partial here.

The RXP is harder to ride in the chop and is a very wet ride.

Try to look past the bashing, you'll find good advice on any message board, you just have to look.

I definitely looked past the bashing and made my decision based on the Rotax technology with super charger and intercooler. Excellent hull design, stability and the fact that every one in my area rides Kawa and Yama. When I launch my boats people stare and wish they had my rig. Besides there fast as heck.

Santa Monika, People's Republik of Kalifornia...
    +1
    Well it's a touchy topic, especially here.