Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Gauge problems

Gauge problems

Ok I just did the open heart surgery on a faulty gauge (the long style). Everything worked great! All the characters in the gauge are now darkly lit and easy to read no problems! One actually I dont seem to have fuel or oil levels? When I turn the display on everything lights up but when the diaplay goes into "normal" the fuel and oils levels disapear. I have ran the Calibration to no avail. There is a fuse out on the terminal board (the short one) but it looks like it's for the bilge maybe though it is also connected to the sending units? Any help would be great thanks!

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    If the fuse was bad it wouldn't light up. Can you put a ohmeter on the sending unit wires and read the resistence? 33 ohm full and 240 is empty.

yeah I'm not good with ohm meter so you have to give a little more deatil than that which wires do i test (what color and where are they)? Also what setting on the ohm meter should i be using?

+1
    Oil is a solid blue and fuel is pink. Put one lead on either of those and the other to ground. It should read between 33 and 240 depending where the float's sitting. Meters are different, set it to the lowest measurement.

I'm in the process of getting a new battery for my meter and remembered that I neglected to mention that the gauge isn't the one that came on the ski new. This guage is different because the fuel and oil levels go straight up instead of curving around the top rwo corners like the original did. I had to get a 12 to 8 pin adapter so this one would connect would the different gauges possibly be incompatable for the fuel and oils levels? Also just a thought would the lack of a signal from the sender put the ski in limp mode because i had no levels last year eighther but ski ran fine, look forward to hearing from you guys thanks!

+1