Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    If your not doing something, its hard to screw up. stlouisramsfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Pontoon Beach Illinois
    Posts
    1,115

    Changing the Catcon to a D-plate

    Are there any step by step breakdowns of this? I did a search and did not find any... also do i need do any changes to the carb settings?
    Thanks in advance
    chris




    '


  2. #2
    The pipe is not hard to pull just a PIA the first time. Get yourself a shop manual, it's the best money you will spend. I would think that the carb settings would not need to be changed with just a D plate install.

  3. #3
    If your not doing something, its hard to screw up. stlouisramsfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Pontoon Beach Illinois
    Posts
    1,115
    Just cleaned up... i have the online version, printer is down though.... i was able to pull the pipe take out the cat con it was still intack and looking goooood... big suprise... bolted on the d-plate and i will put it back tomorrow... the hardest thing for me was getting the 2 sensors unplugged... a good note to remember, on the sensor that is being eliminated, there is a clip on the connector that needs to be reused on the chip, Thanks Puckoach from pwctoday.... anyway only have an hour in it so far... i was extremely happy with that...

    The only other question is which lines are the oil lines that come off and what do you guys use to secure them???

    I am going to save the jetworks job and the 5 degree nozzle for the summer so i can see where i am at with these upgrades

    As always, thanks
    chris
    Last edited by stlouisramsfan; 03-27-2008 at 03:03 PM.

  4. #4
    If your not doing something, its hard to screw up. stlouisramsfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Pontoon Beach Illinois
    Posts
    1,115
    Decided to follow all advice on here and limit mods as much at 1 time so i can really know what the holeshot kit is going to do... just put the exaust back in, went as smooth in as out... i will not dread taking it out again for the holeshot and again to get the carbs done this winter.... Thanks for your help, and especially to the previous post that found through the search engine... right now i am waiting for the 5200 to cure on the pump plug kit and the new inserts then the testing will begin....

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    71
    +1
    1
    Which oils lines do you need to tie down? Did you find out??

  6. #6
    I use zip- ties on my oil lines at my dealership, dont buy them from wal-mart, make sure u get quality. As far as carbs go, if u rejet make sure u cange to a different spring and seat for a better pop-off preasure reading.

  7. #7
    If your not doing something, its hard to screw up. stlouisramsfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Pontoon Beach Illinois
    Posts
    1,115
    No not yet, its the oil lines on the carbs, not sure which one it is on each.... i did not take the U pipe so i couldnt trace it out... i will be installing the holeshot kit in a month or so... so i hope to do it then.... a pic with some circles would be awsome....

  8. #8
    Moderator RX951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    League City, Texas
    Posts
    16,066
    +1
    23
    you will like the holeshot kit.
    Jims Performance also has a pumpshoe/ride plate mod that will give you speed too.

  9. #9
    If your not doing something, its hard to screw up. stlouisramsfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Pontoon Beach Illinois
    Posts
    1,115
    I have Jims rideplate, (currently with 2 washers under both front bolts and zero in the rear for starters) as soon as i get it on the water and get the plate to the sweet spot, i am going to add the hole shot kit and then try out the 5 degree nozzle, i hear i get .5 miles per hour out of it... will i lose much on the handling...

    What does Jim do/ get out of pump shoe? I just sealed it with 5200
    Thanks
    chris

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    St Clair Shores, MI
    Posts
    258
    I'm in the middle of this right now. Can I get some confirmation that I DON'T have to adjust the carbs with just the d-plate?

    The instructions say I "may" have to adjust them and then it gives me a starting point for sea level. I'm not at sea level, and I don't want to be pulling the pipe in and out trying to tweak my carbs.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Do I have to remove the ride plate to change the intake grate?
    By Bamaha1 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2013, 07:00 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 08:05 AM
  3. we should change the name of this section to
    By two2curupt in forum Race Events and News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 08:38 PM
  4. When do i need to change the an old Intercooler
    By LAB69 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2007, 11:37 PM
  5. What is the trick to the IC block off plate???
    By 1 FAST VE in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-09-2005, 08:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •